Different Zones in Windows

1. In how many ways we can configure DNS server? Explain each?

DNS server can be configured as follows:


1) PrimaryIt is a read and write copy and acting as primary.


2) Secondary  It is a backup copy of primary. Any example situation where we will use this.


3) Stub zone Stub zone contains name server information or name server records and SOA records (Start of Authority) Stub zones provide fault tolerance & load balancing besides providing the name server & SOA record information.

Stub zones are useful for resolving the query faster.


4) Active Directory Integrated zone → It will create these zones when you want to save the zone data with Active directory.


5) Forwarders  If the query is not resolved by our local DNS servers, these forwarders will pass the query on to the other DNS servers for resolution.


6) Root Server  There are 13 root servers in entire Globe, maintains ‘.’ Domains (root domains).


7) Caching-only server These DNS servers will cache the recently resolved request and provide the same information to the same kind of another request which is coming in.


2. How to configure secondary zone? 

Right Click on Zone select New




Provide Zone Name




Select the master DNS server.






3. What is Zone transfer?How to configure Zone transfer?

Zone transfer is a process of transferring the zone from primary to secondary or secondary to primary. Zone transfers occur when there is a change or modification taken place on either of the zones.


Zone transfer setup:

On Primary DNS

Open DNS – Right Click on zone Properties




Zone transfer – checkbox allows zone

Select only to the following servers

Specify the secondary DNS servers IP address

Apply –OK


4. How to configure AD integrated Zone? 

In the new zone wizard, you just need to check the below-highlighted option to create AD integrated zones.




5. How to configure Stub Zone? 

In the new zone, wizard selects stub zone.




Topics Summary